Discover An Exceptionnal Heritage
Le château Jean Faure
Château Jean Faure's Logo
Discover The Chateau Video
The 16th century origin

Chateau Jean Faure’s history as a winegrowing estate dates back to the 16th century. It is named after its owner Jehan Faure, who at the time was a resident of Saint-Emilion and a member of the town council of Libourne. Jean Faure’s great terroir is first and foremost a historic terroir, a property anchored to its territory for close to 600 years and only belonging to six families during this period.

As of the middle of 18th century, this historic first growth appeared on the first map of the great terroirs of Bordeaux. Château Jean Faure has consistently spanned the eras. The surface area of Jean Faure has not changed since the beginning of the 19th century.

1893 – 6th edition : Chateau Jean Faure was recognized as a 1st growth of Saint-Emilion at the end of the 19th century.

Feret speaks very highly about its terroir and vineyard:

“Château Jean Faure boasts a well-established reputation both in France and abroad; adjacent to Château Cheval-Blanc, this important domaine produces a wine which is remarkable due to its finesse and its extremely developed bouquet.”

“The estate of Jean Faure boasts various types of soil, where one comes across the best proportions for vine-growing, as well as light siliceous and thick stony-gravel soils, resting upon a ferruginous hardened sandy layer.”

1893 : Chateau Jean Faure was recognized as a 1st growth of Saint-Emilion.
The 18th century manor house

The 18th century manor house has been restored according to the location’s spirit and historic architecture. During the 1700s, the main house of all of the farms in Gironde, including the wine estates, were built according to the same architectural style: low and long.

The farm buildings were adjacent and sometimes formed a courtyard. Enhancements were made to the buildings over the subsequent centuries. This was the case at Jean Faure, as a new bigger main house was constructed at the beginning of the 19th century and two pavilions were added to the edifice at the end of the 19th century.

The Château’s park

The park is a place to relax with its tree-lined lawns, beds of trimmed boxwood shrubs, Japanese-style green spaces and pond.

The over two-hundred-year-old plan trees, umbrella pines, and cedars – the emblem of Jean Faure – bear witness to the estate’s prestigious status as of the 18th century.